Cherry Swirl Ice Cream

Ice Cream has always been my favorite treat. So it was only natural for me to start my blog with an ice cream recipe. I guess that one of the reasons why I love ice cream so much is that it was one of the only sweets that were allowed in our house when I was a child. When other kids were given cookies or cake in the afternoon, my brother and I had apple slices or carrot sticks with a slice of bread. But during summer and especially on holidays we were given an ice cream/frozen yoghurt once in a while, which was the ultimate treat! Later on my parents bought an ice cream machine and we made our own ice cream during summer or on special occasions. I loved helping with the mixing of the ingredients and watching the ice cream churn. At some point I started to make it by myself and now I am obsessed with making ice cream and use our machine almost weekly during summer.

Last year the German edition of the “Jamie Oliver Magazine” was released and when my mum bought the summer issue, we fell in love with the cherry recipes that were included. We made the Cherry Ice Cream first and it was a total winner! We remade it several times and when I saw the first cherries this year I knew what I was going to make with them. If you have cherries on hand, I would highly suggest you go make this ice cream right now!

Scoop topped with cherry coulis

Best enjoyed outside!

Cherry Swirl Ice Cream (adapted from Jamie Magazin)

  • 150 ml whipping cream
  • 150 ml milk
  • 1 vanilla pod, split, seeds scraped out
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 50 g natural cane sugar (I used Sucanat)
  • 300 ml crème double/double cream
  • 250 g cherries, pitted
  • 45 ml kirsch
  1. In a medium saucepan whisk cream, milk and vanilla seeds until the mixture comes to a gentle boil. Remove from heat and set aside.
  2. With an electric beater beat eggs yolks and sugar together until thick and light coloured (about 5 minutes).
  3. Pour the hot cream/milk mixture into the yolk mixture and whisk well (this works best if you have someone help you pouring the hot mixture in).
  4. Return mixture to the saucepan, cook on low heat and stir often, until the mixture thickens. Remove from heat and let cool down to room temperature. Then put into the fridge for 30 minutes.
  5. Add crème double and put again into the fridge.
  6. Cook the pitted cherries with kirsch until soft. Puree in a blender. Allow to cool down and put into the fridge.
  7. Put the ice cream mixture into your ice cream machine and churn according to manufacturer’s instructions until the mixture is quite thick, then add a few spoonfuls of the cherry coulis (around half of the coulis) and continue churning until you can see a nice swirl. Return leftover coulis to the fridge.
  8. Transfer ice cream to a storage container and put into the freezer for a minimum of 4 hours.
  9. If the ice cream has been left in the freezer for more than 4 hours, put it into the fridge 15 minutes prior to serving. Scoop the ice cream and add some coulis on top.
  10. Enjoy!

Notes:

  • If you cannot find crème double, I read that you can substitute half mascarpone/half whipping cream.
  • Jamie used 125 g of sugar in his recipe, I used only 50 g because I like my sweets quite tart. You might have to add more if you prefer yours on the sweeter side.

Leave a Reply

