Birthday Cake

It’s my godmother’s birthday today and I am proud to say that I am her personal Birthday Cake supplier.🙂 A few years ago I surprised her with a birthday cake at work and since she was very busy that day and hadn’t had the time to bake a cake herself, she got very exited about my surprise. The following day she even told me that she had liked the cake so much, she had eaten almost half of it for dessert and I was one happy girl! That’s how a little tradition was born.

Today I am making her the same cake I baked, when I surprised her for the first time. It is a recipe out of my first cookbook, called “The Return Of The Naked Chef” by Jamie Oliver which I got when I was around 15 (that was around 6 years ago…!) and I still use it a lot. I used it to make homemade pasta for the first time on my own which I still remember oh so well. Everything took so much more time than I had thought and in the end we had dinner almost an hour later than what I had told my family. Luckily they were very understanding and patient.

But back to the cake. It is simply called “Party Cake” and really just perfect for Birthday Partys in my book, especially in summer. A simple chocolate layer cake filled with whipped cream and berries, topped with a chocolate glace. Yum.

Two layers of light chocolate cake

Here comes my favourite part: Whipped cream is spread onto the base layer. Don’t you just love the texture of whipped cream?!

Now take a look at these beauties. Put a few into your mouth. Add the rest onto the whipped cream.

Glaze top layer with chocolate. Watch the chocolate drizzle down the berries…

Finished Birthday Cake. Deeelicious.

Party Cake (slightly adapted from “The Return Of The Naked Chef” by Jamie Oliver)

  • 3 heaped tbsp cacao powder
  • 200 g (7 oz) butter
  • 100 g (1/2 cup) raw sugar
  • 3 large eggs (preferably free-range, organic)
  • 200 g (1.6 cups) spelt flour (light or half light, half whole)
  • 1 heaped tsp baking powder
  • 1 large handful flaked almonds
  • 2 tbsp sherry (optional)
  • 200 ml (4/5 cup) whipping cream
  • 2 large handfuls berries (I used raspberries and blueberries)

Chocolate glaze:

  • 100 g (3.5 oz) butter
  • 100 g (3.5 oz) good-quality dark chocolate/couverture
  • 100 g (7/8 cup)  powdered sugar
  1. Line two 20-cm/8-inch spring form cake tins with parchment paper and grease sides. Set aside.
  2. Combine cacao powder with 4 tbsp of boiling water (in a little cup) und mix until smooth.
  3. Combine butter and sugar in a large mixing bowl and beat until creamy. Add cacao mix, eggs and flour, mixed with baking powder, and stir thoroughly until smooth. Add flaked almonds and fold in.
  4. Preheat oven to 180º C/350º F.
  5. Divide the batter between the two cake tins and smooth out. Bake for about 25 min or until baked all through (check with a skewer). Let cool completely, then remove from cake tins.
  6. Whip cool whipping cream. Put base layer onto a serving plate (You can add a few lines of parchment paper around the sides to keep the serving plate clean). Drizzle base layer with sherry to your liking. Cover with whipped cream and add berries on top. Cover with top layer, press down and remove any excess cream (I like to add more cream in the centre, that way it stays more “inside”). Put into fridge.
  7. Melt butter, chocolate and sugar in a double-boiler. Stir well and let cool slightly (3-5 min).
  8. Drizzle chocolate glaze evenly over cake. Remove parchment paper lines if you used them. Put cake into the fridge to allow the glaze to firm up slightly.
  9. Let the party begin!

Leave a Reply

