Bocconcini di Gelato

I have already mentioned on here how much I love ice cream. Ashley from “Not Without Salt” seems to love it just as much which is one of the reasons why I like her blog so much. As she says, “when given the choice, I will always choose ice cream”. A few weeks ago she shared a lovely video where she prepares dinner for a date night with her husband.  I could now go on telling you how incredibly beautiful the video is and how many times I have watched it but you should better take a look yourself. There is salsa and guacamole for tacos and then there is, of course, ice cream for dessert. Ashley melts chocolate with coconut oil and spoons it over scoops of ice cream to make “Little Bombes”. I have had such “Little Bombes” various times at Italian restaurants where they are called “Bocconcini”, but never thought of making them myself. Until Ashley posted her recipe. At that time I still had a long list of ice creams I wanted to try, including one of Ashley’s creations, which I have made several times to make affogatos or to serve with grilled peaches and apricots. This weekend was probably the hottest so far this summer here in Switzerland with temperatures rising to 35° C (95° F) and as I still had a batch of said ice cream in the freezer, I decided to finally give the “Little Bombes” a go.

Little Bombes/ Bocconcini di Gelato (measurements slightly adapted from Not Without Salt by Ashley Rodriguez, who adapted it from Jeni Britton Bauer via Bon Appetit June ′12)

  • Ice cream*
  • 100 g (3.5 oz) bittersweet chocolate
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • pinch salt

Topping suggestions (optional)**:

  • cinnamon
  • lime, lemon or orange zest
  • ground coffee
  • cocoa nibs
  • coconut
  • sprinkles
  • flake salt
  • candied ginger
  • turbinado sugar
  1. Scoop some ice cream onto a cold plate (or several cold plates), then place in the freezer until ready to dip (I used a mini-scoop and needed 24 mini-scoops for the amount of chocolate. If you have a larger scoop, 10-12 scoops should be enough).
  2. Melt chocolate und coconut oil in a (little) double-boiler (or as Ashley suggests in the microwave in intervals of 30 seconds stirring between each).
  3. Once melted remove from heat and let cool for 10 minutes.
  4. With a scoop of ice cream on a fork spoon the melted chocolate over the ice cream. Using another fork gently slide the chocolate covered scoop of ice cream onto a plate and sprinkle with any number of toppings (if using). Work in small batches and quickly return ice cream to the freezer. Let set for at least 10 minutes before serving. This can also be done several days in advance.

* I suggest you use this ice cream, it goes perfect with the chocolate, is really easy and requires very little time, as you don’t need to “put the base in the fridge for at least two hours or preferably overnight”, as with most ice cream bases (I used maple instead of brown rice sirup, because that was what I had on hand). It is not very creamy though which I liked with the hot temperatures but you can use regular vanille ice cream (or any other) if you prefer something creamier.

** I did not use any toppings this time (because I was afraid I would not be able to work fast enough and the ice cream would melt, as I was making the Bombes for the first time) and the Bombes were delicious anyways but if you have enough time or someone to help you, you should use the toppings Ashley suggests. I will definitely try them next time.

Ice cream is scooped onto a cold plate and returned to the freezer.

Bittersweet chocolate and coconut oil…

… melted in a double-boiler

Ice cream is taken out of the freezer and…

…chocolate is spooned over the scoops.

Leave a Reply

