London Day Three

During our stay my friend (L) and I visited “Le Pain Quotidien” quite a few times. “Le Pain Quotidien” is an organic restaurant chain that has stores ALL over London and one of their stores was just around the corner of our B&B and so we went there to grab some of their bread first thing in the morning before heading over to Marylebone on Sunday, had dinner once (the chanterelle and chickpea soup is really good) and on Monday morning I tried their Granola Parfait in their store next to Borough Market (we had headed for Monmouth for the second time, this time it was closed because of a Bank Holiday). The Granola Parfait seemed to be really popular as I had seen a lot of people ordering it and it looked very pretty. After my first bite, I was really happy with my joice, I loved the fresh fruit on top, the joghurt and the granola that wasn’t overly sweet. My kind of breakfast treat. L and I decided that we really needed “Le Pain Quotidien” in Switzerland, since we don’t have anything like this chain that has take-away options, is well-priced and sells fresh, delicious organic food. Funnily enough, after I got home and browsed the internet for a little more information on “Le Pain Quotidien”, I found out that they already have stores in two Swiss cities, one of them being Zürich where I go to university. I will definitely give that one a go soon.

Granola Parfait

Then we took the “Thames Path” once again to walk over to the Tate Modern where we spent the rest of our morning. The temporary exposition in the basement was not so much our thing but we really liked the expositions called “Transformed Visions” and “Poetry and Dream”. After that we crossed the Millennium Bridge and had a look at St. Paul’s Cathedral and then continued to Covent Garden and Picadilly.

St. Paul’s

In the late afternoon we took the bus to Islington  because we had both never been to that area and had heard good things of it. We liked the area a lot, came across a lot of smaller lovely shops, it wasn’t crowded at all and we had one of our best meals at a restaurant called “The Elk in the Woods”. I already loved it the moment we entered. To me it looked like a classic pub with a modern twist, a lot of wood combined with fancy wallpaper (feel free to correct me if I am writing utter nonsense!). Since we were in a pub, I had to order a cider and the one I got was huge (probably just normal) and sooo good. I also loved what it said on the label:

Then I had their “beetroot and carrot houmous with pitta” and the “halloumi with homemade preserved lemons”. All I can say is that I loved every bite of what I had. I also got to try some of my friends “pea guacamole” which was equally delicious. For dessert we had the “apple and rum crumble with custard” which was hands down the best crumble I had ever tasted! We really enjoyed our dinner at “The Elk in the Woods” a lot and I cannot recommend it highly enough to you. The service was also great and I found it all really well-priced. If you go there (and you really should), don’t miss out on the restrooms, even those are brilliant at this place😉 . http://www.the-elk-in-the-woods.co.uk/

Leave a Reply

