Plum pancakes

In between all my posts on London, I thought it was time I came up with a recipe for a change. I wanted to try something new for brunch on Sunday  and so I went through my bookmarked foodblogs to get some inspiration. Needless to say I found a whole lot of great ideas (isn’t it simply overwhelming how big the foodblogger community is and how much great content you can find?!) and in the end decided on a recipe from Fig and Fauna that sounded just perfect to me with the spelt flour, the goat milk and the plums. I didn’t have goat milk on hand but the millet milk I used with its light, sweet taste turned out to go really well with the pancakes too. These pancakes were really everything I had wished for on that Sunday morning, quite the ultimate breakfast treat. (PS: Don’t you just love this maple syrup canister?)

PLUM PANCAKES (slightly adapted from Fig and Fauna)

  • 120 g (1 cup) spelt flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 cup milk (I used millet, Fig and Fauna used goat, you can use any)
  • 1 tbsp liquid sweetener (light honey, agave syrup)
  • 2 tbsp cooking oil (+more for cooking) (melted butter, ghee or coconut oil)
  • 2-3 plums, halved and sliced thinly
  • honey or maple syrup to serve

Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda and sea salt. In a separate bowl combine egg, milk, sweetener of choice and oil. Add wet ingredients to dry and stir until combined, but do not over stir.

Heat a lightly oiled cast iron skillet over medium low. Pour some batter (depending on how large you like your pancakes, Fig and Fauna suggests 1/2 cup) on the sizzling skillet and gently place the plum slices on top of the pancake. Cook for about 2 minutes on each side or until golden brown. Serve with honey or maple syrup.

2 thoughts on “Plum pancakes

Leave a Reply

